SPECIAL PROCEDURES – MANDATE HOLDERS LIST OF VACANCIES-Rev.1* JUNE 2010

SPECIAL PROCEDURES MANDATE HOLDERS TO BE APPOINTED BY THE COUNCIL AT ITS FOURTEENTH SESSION IN JUNE 2010

TITLE OF THE MANDATE/DATE OF ESTABLISHMENT	NAME, COUNTRY OF ORIGIN OF THE CURRENT MANDATE HOLDER	REMARKS
Working Group on Enforced or Involuntary Disappearances (Member from the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States) Established by resolution 20 (XXXVI) of the Commission on Human Rights; last renewed by HRC resolution 7/12	Santiago Corcuera Cabezut (Mexico)	Exceeding six years tenure in August 2010
Special Rapporteur on extrajudicial, summary or arbitrary executions Established by resolution 1982/35 of the Commission on Human Rights; last renewed by HRC resolution 8/3	Philip Alston (Australia)	Exceeding six years tenure in July 2010
Special Rapporteur on the adverse effects of the movement and dumping of toxic and dangerous products and wastes on the enjoyment of human rights Established by resolution 1995/81 of the Commission on Human Rights, last renewed by HRC resolution 9/1	Okechukwu Ibeanu (Nigeria)	Exceeding six years tenure in July 2010
Special Rapporteur on freedom of religion or belief Established by resolution 1986/20 of the Commission on Human Rights, last renewed by HRC resolution 6/37	Asma Jahangir (Pakistan)	Exceeding six years tenure in July 2010

^{*}All mandates were extended by HRC resolution 5/1. The newly appointed mandate holders will assume their functions on 1 August 2010 (in accordance with paragraphs 45 and 62 of resolution 5/1).

SPECIAL PROCEDURES – MANDATE HOLDERS LIST OF VACANCIES-Rev.1* JUNE 2010

SPECIAL PROCEDURES MANDATE HOLDERS TO BE APPOINTED BY THE COUNCIL AT ITS FOURTEENTH SESSION IN JUNE 2010

TITLE OF THE MANDATE/DATE OF ESTABLISHMENT	NAME, COUNTRY OF ORIGIN OF THE CURRENT MANDATE HOLDER	REMARKS
Special Rapporteur on the right to education Established by resolution 1998/33 of the Commission on Human Rights, last renewed by HRC resolution 8/4	Vernor Muñoz Villalobos (Costa Rica)	Exceeding six years tenure in July 2010
Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in the Democratic People's Republic of Korea Established by resolution 2004/13 of the Commission on Human Rights, last renewed by HRC resolution 10/16	Vitit Muntarbhorn (Thailand)	Exceeding six years tenure in July 2010
Independent Expert on the situation of human rights in Burundi Established by resolution 2004/82 of the Commission on Human Rights, last renewed by HRC resolution 9/19	Akich Okola (Kenya)	Exceeding six years tenure in July 2010
Working Group on the use of mercenaries as a means of impeding the exercise of the right of peoples to self-determination (Member from the Group of Asian States) Established by resolution 2005/2 of the Commission on Human Rights, last renewed by HRC resolution 7/21	Shaista Shameem (Fiji)	Exceeding six years tenure in July 2010

^{*}All mandates were extended by HRC resolution 5/1. The newly appointed mandate holders will assume their functions on 1 August 2010 (in accordance with paragraphs 45 and 62 of resolution 5/1).