SPECIAL PROCEDURES – MANDATE HOLDERS LIST OF VACANCIES REV.2* MARCH 2010

SPECIAL PROCEDURES MANDATE HOLDERS TO BE APPOINTED BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE HUMAN RIGHTS COUNCIL UPON ENDORSEMENT OF THE COUNCIL			
TITLE OF THE MANDATE/DATE OF ESTABLISHMENT	NAME AND COUNTRY OF ORIGIN OF THE CURRENT MANDATE HOLDER	NEW MANDATE HOLDER TO BE APPOINTED IN:	REMARKS
Working Group on Enforced or Involuntary Disappearances (representative from the Eastern European Group) <i>Established by resolution 20 (XXXVI) of the</i> <i>Commission on Human Rights; last renewed by</i> <i>HRC resolution 7/12</i>	Darko Göttlicher (Croatia)	March 2010	Exceeding six years tenure in January 2010 (Deadline for submission of nominations <u>expired</u> on 15 December 2009)
Working Group on Arbitrary Detention (representative from the Eastern European Group) Established by resolution 1991/42 of the Commission on Human Rights; last renewed by HRC resolution 6/4	Aslan Abashidze (Russian Federation)	March 2010	Mandate holder resigned on 18 January 2010 Deadline for submission of nominations is set to <u>19 February 2010</u>
 Working Group on people of African descent (representative from the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States) <i>Established by resolution 2002/68 of the</i> <i>Commission on Human Rights; last renewed by</i> <i>HRC resolution 9/14</i> 	Ralston Milton Nettleford (Jamaica)	March 2010	Mandate holder passed away on 2 February 2010 Deadline for submission of nominations is set to <u>9 March 2010</u>

* All mandates were extended by HRC resolution 5/1. The newly appointed mandate holders will assume their functions on 1 May 2010 (in accordance with paragraphs 45 and 62 of resolution 5/1).