Focusing on Women's Political Participation and Leadership – In Pursuit of Equality

9 July 2012, 11:00 am to 1:00 pm United Nations Headquarters, New York Conference Room 3 of the North Lawn Building

Programme

11:00 - 11:05 am

Q Welcoming statement by Ms. Silvia Pimentel, Chair of the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women

11.05 - 11.15 am

Statement by Mr. Jan Eliasson, Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations

11:15 – 11:40 am

- Statement by Ms. **Michelle Bachelet**, Executive Director of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women
- Statement by H.E. Ms. Dilma Rouseff, President of Brazil delivered by Ms. Eleonora Menicucci de Oliveira, Minister of Policies for Women (Brazil)
- Statement by Ms. **Shanthi Dairiam**, Founder and Member of the Board of Directors of the International Women's Rights Action Watch Asia Pacific (IWRAW-AP)

11:40 am - 12:50 pm

Interactive panel discussion on women's political participation and leadership moderated by Mr. **Ivan Šimonović**, Assistant Secretary-General, New York Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights.

Panelists

- Mr. **Anders B. Johnsson** (Sweden): Secretary-General of the Inter-Parliamentary Union since 1998. Before serving as IPU Secretary General, Mr. Johnson directed the development of IPU's program to strengthen parliaments and promote democracy. Prior to joining the IPU in 1991, he worked for more than 15 years in the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) where he held senior positions in Honduras, Pakistan, Sudan and Viet Nam, as well as at UNHCR Headquarters where he was Senior Legal Adviser to the High Commissioner.
- Q Rt. Hon. **Rebecca Alitwala Kadaga** (Uganda): Lawyer and politician, and current Speaker of the Ugandan Parliament. She is the first female to be elected Speaker in the history of Parliament in Uganda. She is also the current Member of Parliament (MP) for the Kamuli District Women's Constituency, Busoga sub-region, a position she has served in since 1989.
- Ms. **Sapana Pradhan Malla** (Nepal): Lawyer and member of the Nepalese Constituent Assembly. She is president of the Forum for Women, Law and Development. In 2008, she was a joint winner of the Gruber Prize for Women's Rights.
- As. Martha Sanchez Nestor (Mexico): Founder of Coordinadora Nacional de Mujeres Indigenas (CONAMI), and Founder of Casa de Salud de la Mujer Indigena-Manos Unidas. She has led the fight to promote indigenous women's health issues and rights in Mexico and throughout the region.
- Professor **Souad Triki** (Tunisia): Professor Souad Triki is the new Team Leader of the "Civil Society" ENPI South Programme. She boasts a significant professional experience within the civil society milieu. After the Tunisian revolution, she served as Vice President of the Independent Higher Authority for the October 2011 elections in Tunisia.

12:50 - 1:00 pm

Q Concluding remarks by Mr. **Ivan Šimonović**, Assistant Secretary-General, New York Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights.





This event is supported by the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights and the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UN Women).