English  |  Espa˝ol  |  Franšais  |    |    | 
Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture (OPCAT)

OP to the Convention against Torture
- Status of ratification,
Reservations and declarations

Convention against torture
- Status of ratification, Reservations and declarations

The SPT and its work

SPT Regional Teams
Press releases
Concept of prevention of torture
Guidelines of the SPT in relation to visits to States parties
E | F | S | R | C | A
SPT visits and follow-up
Outline of a regular SPT visit
The SPT in brief
Factfile on the SPT
National preventive mechanisms
SPT annual reports

Judicial review and due process
E | S
The UN Standard Minimum Rules on the Treatment of Prisoners
E | F | S
Rules of Procedure
E | F | S
OPCAT Contact Network
Secretariat contact details

OPCAT Special Fund

OPCAT Special Fund

Further information
Treaty bodies database
Universal Human Rights Index
Related UN Links

Committee against Torture Special Rapporteur on Torture
UN Voluntary Fund for Victims of Torture
Special Rapporteur on Extra-judicial, Summary or Arbitrary Executions
Working Group on Arbitrary Detention

External links

African Commission on Human and People's Rights
Amnesty International
APT OPCAT Database
Human Rights Implementation Centre of the University of Bristol
Inter-American Commission of Human Rights
Penal Reform International
Torture Reporting Book

Note: OHCHR is not responsible for the content of external websites and the provision of links on this page does not imply that OHCHR associates itself with such content




Countries assigned

Hans-Jörg Viktor Bannwart

Mauritania, Tunisia

Víctor Madrigal-Borloz

Nigeria, Democratic Republic of the Congo

Paul Lam Shang Leen (the Head)

Burkina Faso, Liberia, Mali, Togo

Hans Draminsky Petersen

Benin, Mauritius

Olivier Obrecht

Resigned on 12 December 2013

Fortuné Gaétan Zongo

Senegal, Gabon, Burundi



Countries assigned

Enrique Andrés Font

Chile, Uruguay

Emilio Ginés Santidrián

Argentina, Bolivia, Mexico

Maria Margarida Pressburger

Honduras, Paraguay

Miguel Sarre Iguíniz

Nicaragua, Panama

Judith Salgado (the Head)

Costa Rica, Peru

Felipe Villavicencio Terreros

Brazil, Ecuador, Guatemala

Asia Pacific


Countries assigned

Arman Danielyan

Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan

Lowell Patria Goddard (the Head)

Lebanon, Maldives, Philippines 

June C. Pagaduan Lopez

Cambodia, Nauru, New Zealand



Countries assigned

Mari Amos (the Head)

Denmark, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Sweden, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Malcolm Evans

Turkey, Hungary, Bulgaria, Romania

Suzanne Jabbour Norway

Milos Jankovic

Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

Petros Michaelides

France, Liechtenstein, Republic of Moldova, Estonia

Aisha Shujune Muhammad

Germany, Armenia, Slovenia, Poland

Christian Pross

Resigned on 30 October 2013

Aneta Stanchevska

Serbia, Croatia, Montenegro, Cyprus, Italy

Wilder Tayler Souto

Switzerland, Spain, Czech Republic

Victor Zaharia

Malta, Azerbaijan, Georgia


Should you wish to contact the members of the SPT Regional Teams, please send your queries to opcat@ohchr.org


© OHCHR 1996-2011 Site map  Contact us